For 4th of July

So as you may already know I am Portuguese: born and raised. And just recently moved to Massachusetts, USA.

Como vocês já devem saber, sou portuguesa: nascida e criada. E só recentemente mudei-me para Massachusetts, EUA.

8.jpg

It is not the first time I have moved or lived abroad: I have lived in Scotland for a period of time and before I came here I was living in England by myself. So the whole experience is not entirely new: and I am thankful for that. Because it is not easy. I have visited Boston before on vacation, but actually living in a place is always quite different.

Não é a primeira vez que eu me mudo ou vivo fora do meu país de origem: eu vivi na Escócia por um período de tempo e antes de vir para aqui estava vivendo sozinha em Inglaterra. Portanto a experiência no geral não é nova: e estou grata por isso. Porque não é fácil. Eu já visitei Boston antes em férias, mas viver verdadeiramente num sítio é sempre bem diferente.

Nova Imagem4

7

It has been hard to adapt, especially having moved back in with my family after living on my own for so long. European vs USA ways are real. So I find it hard to fit into the culture and understand why people are what and how they are.

Tem sido difícil adaptar, especialmente o ter voltado a viver com a minha família depois de tanto tempo a viver sozinha. Maneiras europeias vs americanas é mesmo uma coisa. Acho complicado encaixar na cultura e perceber como e porque as pessoas são como são. 

9

10

“Living abroad is the best way to see and understand where you’re from. You gain an outsider’s perspective of the culture you are used to and can see it for its positive and negative aspects.” I say this all the time now. After being abroad making a living I have come to realize and appreciate so much more my own culture and country. Making it that much harder to keep walking further and further away from it.

[“Morar noutro país que não o de origem é a melhor maneira de ver e entender de onde és. Ganhas uma perspetiva de estrangeiro da cultura a que estás tão habituado e podes vê-la pelos seus pontos positivos e negativos.”]. Eu digo isto a toda a hora agora. Depois de viver noutro país eu apercebi-me e passei a apreciar muito mais a minha própria cultura e país. Tornando assim mais difícil continuar a afastar-me cada vez mais.

5

DSCN1642

My own country is beautiful and the island I come from breathtaking. My international friends used to say I lived in paradise, because it just looks so magical. And it truly is. I love it and carry it with me everywhere I go. But it is too small for me. My mother told me “After all you have seen it is impossible for you to live here” and she was right.

O meu país é lindo e a ilha de onde sou natural é de tirar o folgo. Os meus amigos internacionais costumavam dizer que eu morava no paraíso, visto que tudo parece tão mágico. E é mesmo. Eu amo esse lugar e levo-o comigo para todo o lado que vou. Mas é demasiado pequeno para mim. A minha mãe chegou a dizer-me: “Depois de tudo o que já viste é impossível viveres aqui” e ela tinha razão.

12

I find it hard to see my priorities clearly now. I am very ambitious and am always looking for more and bigger. So this seems like the perfect opportunity, right? Well, since it is not the first time I have gone to big lengths in order to find something better for myself I have had a lot of time to reflect on the subject. I strive to look outside for something that I did not have (or even saw in the future) before, but at a great cost. I constantly leave all that I know and love and some of the most important people in my life without even knowing if and when will I ever come back. Enlarging the hour difference and distance each time, and with that the ability to visit often or keep in touch easily. I am not complaining. I do it to myself and fight for the things worth keeping. But it is worth the thought. And it haunts me. I keep sabotaging relationships for a ‘better lifestyle’. Am I doing it wrong?

Ultimamente tenho acho penoso ver claramente as minhas prioridades. Eu sou muito ambiciosa e sempre à procura de mais e maior. Então soa à oportunidade perfeita, não? Bem, sendo que esta não é a primeira vez que faço grandes esforços para conseguir algo melhor para mim mesma eu tive muito tempo para refletir sobre o assunto. Eu empenho-me por encontrar noutros lugares o que eu não tinha antes (ou nem via no futuro), mas a grandes custos. Eu abandono constantemente tudo o que conheço e adoro e algumas das pessoas mais importantes na minha vida sem sequer saber quando e se eu vou voltar. Aumentando a diferença de horas e distância a cada vez, e com isso a habilidade de visitar com frequência ou de manter o contacto. Eu não me estou a queixar. Eu faço-o a mim mesma e luto pelas coisas que valem a pena manter. Mas vale a pena a reflexão. Assombra-me. Eu continuo a sabotar relacionamentos por uma chance de um ‘melhor estilo de vida’. Será que estou a fazer tudo errado?

 

But life is made out of choices, consequences and learning from it all. It is experience that builds characters and frankly some of the best stories we have to share with others. So here am I now, in the middle of a huge city, lost in an even bigger country, ready to start yet another grand adventure. I’ll try to make the best out of it, even when doubting if this is the place I should be or not. Because if not, I would just be self-inflicting my own suffering. So, Boston, here I come.

13

Mas a vida é feita de escolhas, consequências e a aprendizagem que advém de tudo isso. É experiência que constrói caráter e francamente algumas das melhores histórias que temos para partilhar com outros. Por isso aqui estou eu agora, no meio de uma grande cidade, perdida num ainda maior país, pronta para começar outra enorme aventura. Eu tentarei fazer o melhor da situação, mesmo se duvidando se é este o local para mim. Porque se não eu apenas estaria a infligir sofrimento a mim mesma. Então, Boston, aqui vou eu.

I got this, right? Eu consigo isto, certo? 😉

11.jpg

Happy 4th !!

Stay Classy ❤

2 thoughts on “For 4th of July

Leave a Reply

